Celebrating a Small Success

This year I have taken on a few more hours which has been requiring me to work with a larger group/whole class. Usually I work more on a 1:1 basis, so this has been a big step for me. I am naturally nervous when it come to working in larger groups and approaching people so this has been a bit of a challenge. There is one particular class I have been working in that is also maths based (my weakest point!), and the first class didn’t go so well for me so I felt that I wasn’t very useful at all. Which of course played on my anxiety through out the week so by the time that the next session rolled on in, I was pretty nervous and reluctant to crawl out from under my desk and put my big people socks on.

But I managed to surprise myself that day. I took a few deep breaths and kept calm as I approached the first unknown (as in never worked with them before) student, and they responded well. Having that first success early in the class really helped to build my confidence, and I ended up finishing up in a good head space in that class. My maths still sucks (ha ha), but I felt like I was able to be more supportive than last week so I am going to claim it as a success 🙂 I still have a ways to go but maybe it will start to feel a bit easier from now on – we will see!

Leave a Reply

